wpid-wp-1400814375241.jpegSo, just as the title of this post implies, this is my third attempt at generating and maintaining a blog. I think my first attempt was way back during college when Livejournal was all the rage, then last year I jumped on the Tumblr bandwagon and quickly decided it wasn’t for me.

Up until this point, and for the past 3 years, I’ve been blogging for my job at Service Ideas using a WordPress site. I think the reason I decided to stick with the WordPress format is because I like it: it’s simple, yet sophisticated. You can make it as minimalist or extravagant as your heart desires, all at the push of a button or with a change in template.

But I digress, why now? Why start another blog when the first two failed so miserably?

My life at this point in time is experiencing an influx of change. My extended family is becoming larger, which comes with its own unique sets of dramas and challenges. My immediate family is also expanding – we’ll be having another daughter in a few short weeks. For the first time in I don’t know how long, I will be on an extended vacation for 3 months during summer break – free from the hustle, bustle and tyrannical rule of work.

I’m hoping that this time will be a sort of cleanse and period of self-reflection and growth. Lately I’ve been struggling with my identity, with the high demands of my job, and the ever changing dynamics of my family. Change is always a good thing, but for some time now I feel as if I have been attempting to go against the tide instead of with it. I struggle with my wants & needs on a daily basis, and continue to feel lost and unsure of my continued role in my own life.

I have been eager for a change of pace – a fresh start. I made a list of a handful of things I’d like to accomplish this summer with my family, and I would like to share them with you (and document them for myself as a reminder).

  • Be thankful for each new day, and live it to its fullest
  • Spend time with my children & husband, whether it’s one on one or as a group doing activities that we can all enjoy
  • Read some of my self-help books that have been collecting dust on my bookshelf
  • Try new things – I want to experience as many of the independent coffee shops in the Minneapolis area as I can this summer
  • Get back into yoga – I felt my best when I had a yoga routine, and with how busy I’ve become, I lost that routine. I’d like to get it back.
  • Experience nature every day, whether it’s a walk around the block, sitting outside in the yard, a bike ride to the park or just mowing the lawn
  • Figure out what I want out of a job, and either look for something new, or come up with ways to change my current situation
  • Be selfish and have “me time” when I need it
  • Make new friends, continue to network at the Social Media Breakfast each month, meet up for coffee
  • Volunteer if possible – I’d love to do the Color Run this year again, but I worry that may be too soon. That being said, I’d still love to volunteer to help at races and events around the Metro that benefit local charities and causes that I care about.

So, I guess the difference between my past blogs and this one is that my hope for this blog is to use it as a means of capturing my goals, hopes, and everyday progress during my summer off work. I want to catalog what I do to ensure that I’m being true to the program that I’ve set up for myself, to hold myself accountable to my own happiness, and it’s my hope that you’ll be willing to indulge me on this mini-adventure.

