Ever since my husband and I learned that we were going to be having another baby, we started pondering if this pregnancy was going to be anything like the first.

Persephone's First Day in the World
Persephone’s First Day in the World

My oldest daughter, Persephone, was born after 3 days of labor. Even though she was considered “late” by the due date they changed it to (August 23rd), she actually ended up coming on her original due date, which was – you guessed it – three days later.

She was also born after a grueling hot summer, at which point I was ready to have her out of me no matter what the cost. I was always hot and uncomfortable, my feet had swollen to Hobbit proportions, and my belly could have had its own zip code it was so large. But the pregnancy itself – those 9 months I incubated the little parasite that was my first-born – were actually a breeze. No morning sickness, no food aversion (except browning beef – that made me gag something fierce), no bowel issues of any kind (yeah ladies, we go through some sexy times). The only time I had heart burn was during a few weeks my last trimester, and even then it was something that easily went away after chewing on some Tums.

That isn’t to say that everything ELSE wasn’t a bed of roses during that first pregnancy. In May of 2008, I was diagnosed with Basal Cell Carcinoma, and had to have Mohs surgery on my nose to remove the skin cancer. It was a very straightforward procedure, but when you’re 24 years old and hear that you have cancer, even a very treatable form, that’ll mess you up a little bit. Add to that the fact that I got to sport a black eye and thick, black Frankenstein-esque stitches on my face when I was 6 months pregnant, and you can about guess the types of looks my husband and I would garner when out in public.

Baby V (yeah, I'm not telling you what her name is until she gets here)
Baby V (yeah, I’m not telling you what her name is until she gets here)

This pregnancy, however, is like night and day to the one I had with Sephie. For the first 3 months, regardless of what I would eat, I would get sick. Not full on “praise the porcelain gods” sick, but near enough. And I was down with the sickness, like 3 times, during this pregnancy (thanks Polar Vortex), which as you can imagine was less than ideal given you can’t take ANYTHING when you are pregnant to combat things like colds.

After the nausea stopped, the cravings started in earnest. I don’t think I’ve ever had as many Chicken Strip Baskets from Dairy Queen in my LIFE as I have during this pregnancy. I craved chicken like some sort of weird fox woman for like 2 months. I also miraculously can have milk again, as I’ve been lactose intolerant for the past 2 years prior to getting pregnant.

I’ve enjoyed the joys of ice cream without having to take a lactaid pill so I don’t feel like dying. I have discovered an as yet untapped number of sounds that my body can make that I was previously unaware of until this point (not all of which are flattering to say the least). And I had heartburn so bad the other night that I was afraid to move for fear that my whole stomach would try to come shooting up my esophagus and out my mouth. I’ve started taking precautionary Zantac before bed each night, just to be safe.

That being said, I am also super excited to meet the little creature that has been playing Patty Cake with my organs for the past 4 months. Her older sister, who is 5 going on 21, is also visibly thrilled to be a big sister and cannot WAIT for her to show up. I’ll keep you posted on how things pan out – I’m hoping she won’t follow in Sephie’s footsteps when it comes to the 3 days of labor bit – but I’m sure it’ll all turn out just fine. Thanks for reading.

