image
Sephie’s last week of school

This Thursday will mark the end of Sephie’s first year of school. I’m not quite sure how I feel about this, to be honest.

They always say that time passes so quickly once they start school – and honestly, that’s very true. This year seemed to zoom past in the blink of an eye, but not without its own unique quirks and challenges.

I can’t speak for my husband, but I know I was a little anxious about how Sephie would adapt to Kindergarten. Up until that point, she had been spending the past couple years at a daycare where she was the oldest child by almost 3 years. Not only that, but when we enrolled her, Sephie was one of the youngest kids in her class (and still is). She’s so smart though, that we didn’t worry too much about it.

Kindergarten has changed since Thomas and I were in school. Gone are the days of nap time and arts & crafts. Now children are expected to know all their letters (upper and lowercase), count to 100 and know basic reading and writing. When I first heard this at the start of the year, I was just flabbergasted. But little by little, as Sephie would bring her schoolwork home each week, we started to notice the changes that school had taught.

Sephie's First Day of School
Sephie’s First Day of School

What once was stick figures in her “journal,” quickly morphed into people with fingers, hair & eyelashes. What once was scribbles on the page quickly turned into letters that formed words that were surprisingly close to being spelled properly. When out driving, Sephie will spontaneously read signs, which will usually catch me off guard as I can’t read billboards when I’m driving, so most of the time I have no idea what she’s talking about until after the fact.

School has also given us the opportunity to teach her more life lessons that, up until this point, we hadn’t really had to do. Like learning patience, knowing that it’s okay to say no to people if something they are doing doesn’t agree with you. We’ve had to go over and over learning to keep your hands to yourself (she’s a very physical, loving child and still doesn’t quite understand the concept of boundaries), in addition to learning when it is okay to make comments and speak out of turn and when it is not appropriate.

Sephie has made a lot of friends this year, which I am thankful for, and each of them has taught her things that have started to shape and mold her personality. She’s more confident (not that she wasn’t a spitfire to begin with), has no problem letting you know what she wants, and has picked up some unusual phrases that make us laugh whenever she uses them out of context.

I’m excited for this summer, as I’ll get to spend it with Sephie and the new baby, and it will be fun to experience things with both of them: like the zoo, swimming pools, Valley Fair perhaps (not the baby obviously) and the State Fair (which I am sad to admit I have never been to).

So here is my send off regarding Sephie’s first year of school. It hasn’t always been easy, things didn’t always run the way we planned, but I couldn’t be happier with the progress she has made this year. Good job, Persephone!

 

