The look of a proud 1st grader
The look of a proud 1st grader

School has started once again, and with the return of early mornings, packed lunches and crabby 1st graders, it also marks the end of my maternity leave.

I couldn’t have planned my pregnancy better: 3 months at home with my two girls and my husband, who works from home. I’ve been fortunate that I was able to take as much leave as I was able to.

As my final week of leave draws ever nearer to its conclusion, I thought I would take some time to reflect on what this summer has taught me.

They see me nappin', they hatin'...
They see me nappin’, they hatin’…

Naps Are Still Amazing

How many of you still get to enjoy a good nap? MAN, I’m gonna miss those. There is nothing like snuggling with your baby after a feeding session and taking a much needed kip for an hour (or two).

Netflix Is Great

Do you know how boring it is to pump? I mean seriously, it’s really boring. Thank God for Netflix, which I relied on heavily this summer, entertaining myself with documentaries such as “Tiny” and “Forgotten Planet: Abandoned America.” But I also took time to get into TV series that I always meant to, like “House” (guess what I’m doing until Christmas?). Ah, Netflix – thank you for your endless hours of enjoyment.

Reading Books Is Still Awesome

I took time during feedings to reaquaint myself with the wonder that is books. And I don’t mean Kindles or tablets: real, honest to God, paper books. I finally finished “The Great Gatsby,” as well as introduced myself to Ransom Riggs with “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” and “Hollow City.” One of my favorite books that I read this summer was the memoir by Jenny “The Bloggess” Lawson – “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened.” Ugh, I forgot how awesome books are.

Megan & Sephie posing near the "Pink" section of the MOA
Megan & Sephie posing near the “Pink” section of the MOA

Walking Isn’t Just For Old People

A fellow coworker, who had their baby a week before me, proposed the idea of going for walks together during our leave. We met up once a week for about a month at the Mall of America to cruise the MOA in style. And when I say “in style,” I mean in stretchy yoga pants and tank tops – the uniform of the SAHM. It was fun to catch up, as well as see all of the clothes that I want to buy but can’t fit into. It also got me to get off my butt and get some of my FitBit steps in for the week, which was also a bonus.

County Fairs Are Underrated

I haven’t been to a county fair in years. When my parents asked if we wanted to go to the Polk County Fair, it sounded like a fun time. It was the first time that we’ve taken Persephone to a Fair, and when she saw this guy, it reminded me just how magical fairs are to children.

To infinity and beyond
To infinity and beyond

Everybody Wants To Be A Cat

Over the course of the past year or so, Persephone and I have bonded over the cuteness that is Lil Bub. So when I found out that she was going to be in town after the Internet Cat Video Fest, I made sure that I was the coolest mom ever and took Sephie. Bub’s Dude is one of the nicest men ever, and he appreciated the drawing that Sephie made for him. And Bub was twice as cute, and half as small as I imagined her to be.

We're in lub with Lil Bub
We’re in lub with Lil Bub
They call him Angus
They call him Angus

Follow the Tortoise

This also marked the first year that we treated Sephie to the Renaissance Festival in Shakopee. She had no idea where we were going, and when she heard about the Fairies and Mermaids, I thought she was going to lose her sh!t. Even though she loved the typical mythical fare, by far my favorite part of the Middle Ages was old Angus and his barrel of rum. I mean, how can you NOT love a tortoise with a porpoise?

And last, but not least…

image
It’s a trap!

Time Passes Too Quickly

I blinked and before I knew it, Seraphina was over 11 lbs and starting to babble. I forgot how fast they grow. I forgot how good it makes you feel when they start smiling at you and cooing. I forgot how good they smell, the sense of accomplishment you feel when they start to sleep through the night. I forgot almost everything – except how wonderful it feels and how worth it everything is.

Well, that was my summer: how was yours?

