But… it’s… MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

That, my friends, is Georgette from Oliver & Company – the 1988 Disney Animated take on “Oliver Twist.”

I vividly remember this film growing up. Part of it could be because I had the soundtrack (on cassette, because we didn’t have CD players back then), and I would listen to it so often, I’m surprised I didn’t burn it out.

My favorite number by far was when Georgette, voiced by Bette Midler, was introduced in the movie. I recall singing along in my bedroom to this song at the tender age of 6, thinking I was the coolest kid on the block.

So why am I bringing this up? This movie, and specifically Georgette’s song, came into my head recently during my evening commute home. I’m not quite sure why, but hearing the song again filled me with that childlike joy from my youth, and I found myself belting it out right along with Bette in my car as I crawled my way down 694 towards home.

What song from your youth still gets you fired up today? On this #ThrowbackThursday, I’d be excited to hear.

Until next time, don’t forget that sometimes it’s okay to be your own biggest fan (like Georgette).

1333496_1390447707497_full
I’m beauty unleashed, YEAH!

 

