It’s an odd thing, when you’re a parent, to realize that history is repeating itself.

There is a picture of my sister and I that hangs in my parents basement. It’s from Christmas 1989 – the year my sister was born. I was 6 years old when this picture was taken.

Lindsay Valenty nee Stangl and Madison Stangl Christmas 1989
Lindsay (me) – Age 6 Madison – Age 4 months Christmas 1989

This year, I had a bit of a revelation when we were at my parents on Christmas Day – my daughters are the same age as my sister & I were when this picture was taken. Who could have known that 25 years later, I would have two daughters of my own that also happen to be 6 years apart in age?

As tends to be the theme when you find memorable vintage photographs, we set out to recreate it. Even though the clothes are different, and the pose isn’t exactly the same, I think it turned out perfect.

Persephone - Age 6 Seraphina - Age 6 months Christmas 2014
Persephone – Age 6
Seraphina – Age 6 months
Christmas 2014

I hope you had a wonderful Christmas with friends and family. From my family to yours – Happy Holidays, and all of the best in 2015.

– Linz

