wpid-wp-1440027135502.jpegIt’s been a rainy day.

Coming into the house after a long day, and a longer commute, I felt the chill bite of the wind whispering through the trees and the windows. I had to run and grab my slippers from upstairs.

It’s fall weather outside, and that makes me happy.

Autumn is by far my favorite season. The changing of the leaves, the smell of damp and cold, the warmth you feel by a bonfire, the crunch of the leaves underfoot, and the taste of chai or warm pumpkin pie – that is my definition of happiness.

I’m currently wearing my boring pair of slippers. I can’t find my fun ones. I found them at one point before we had our housewarming party – and they were quickly hidden, in a box or a bag or a basket, to be later discovered once we start the laborious process of unpacking our boxes once again.

Would you like to see them?

wpid-wp-1440027974288.jpeg

I got them as a Christmas present from my brother-in-law, Luke, two years ago. He was my secret Santa. That was the same Christmas that he got me this gem:

coffee makes me poop mug

(The mug, not the pour over filter)

Sitting here by the window, listening to the chirping of birds and the distant sounds of the freeway, I’m eager for fall. Our new home has a backyard that is about 90% canopy – we have trees for days. Sure, it’ll make for lots of raking, but it’ll also be great for bonfires and smores, not to mention that once the leaves start to fall, we’ll be able to see the pond that resides behind our home. You can’t really see it currently.

My current mood may also be influenced by my new favorite podcast, The Memory Palace. I’ve only listened to about 5-6 podcasts (they are all only up to 12 minutes long), and I really enjoy Nate DiMeo’s melodic voice, and the way he weaves historical facts with his own fictitious spin. It makes for a fun and soothing listen.

It is here that I think I will leave you. I’m going to go enjoy some chicken noodle soup with my family, and then perhaps test out the fireplace in the reading room downstairs with a book that I’ve been meaning to read for some time. Allow me to leave you with some love, from Bub.

unnamed

Love,

Linz

