When faced with the choice between a Chrysler Sebring and a Plymouth Breeze, I did what anyone would do – I purchased the car that was still being made. And regretted the decision ever since.

Hi, my name is Money Pit - just throw your wallet in here and I'll take care of the rest
Hi, my name is Money Pit – just throw your wallet in here and I’ll take care of the rest

From the moment I bought it, to the day I paid it off, my Sebring was nothing but a problem child that I just kept throwing money at. You name it, I ended up replacing it: tires, radiator, dashboard electrical, brakes, battery, tire rods, and the list goes on and on.

By the time we eventually sold it, I had probably paid for it twice over with the amount of maintenance I had done to it. The last day I saw it, I was so happy to see it go I think I actually wept with joy.

Which brings us to my dearly departed 2005 Subaru Forester.

Thomas purchased the Forester shortly after Persephone was born – trading in his dream car for a more practical mode of transportation.

Once the Sebring was paid off, we sold it and we used the profits to put a down payment on a newer Impreza 5-door. I inherited the Forester, and our adventures began.

Our last adventure, turns out, was to Cragun’s Resort for a family vacation to celebrate my mother-in-law’s birthday. The Forester died on the way back home—with a shudder and a gasp—before we towed it into Sauk Rapids, and eventually to Minnetonka where it was pronounced DOA.

Currently, we are down to one vehicle, and the search for a car I can utilize on a short-term lease is underway. Here’s hoping that I’ll have better luck this time around.

Until next time, drive safe.

-Linz

Editors Note: When I initially wrote this post, I was still in the process of looking for a new vehicle.

Well – today I found one!

img_3571-jpg

Introducing Bumble: my 2016 Honda Fit. I can tell we were made for each other because my new license plate ends in “VLV” – which I’m going to start saying as “Valenty, Lindsay Valenty” whenever I see it.

Happy travels!

