I’m sure many of you have set your resolutions for the year. I know that some of you flat out refuse to adhere to the practice, which is coo’.

Over the years I’ve discovered that the easiest way to stick to resolutions is to set ones that you actually have a prayer of accomplishing.

That being said, here are my 2017 List ‘o Things I Wanna Do (or Be Better At) in no particular order.

2h0qpgdvgz

I’m resolving to write more

I’d like to try and force myself to write at least 1 blog post a week – it doesn’t have to be a novel, but I believe that in order to get good at anything, we should continue to practice it. I’ve always wanted to be better at writing: to one day be good enough to write a book that people may actually want to read. Well, just like riding a bike, you won’t get good at it if you don’t keep at it. So consider this my late addition to Week 1 of 2017.

DCIM106GOPRO

I’m resolving to kayak again this year

Ever since I first tried it with old coworkers a few years ago, it’s been my goal to go kayaking at least once every year. This past year, it didn’t happen, but I did manage to do it back in 2015. So, I think this is an attainable goal for 2017.

fli26w5vxu

I’m resolving to travel this year

2017 marks my husband and I’s 10-year wedding anniversary, and for the past couple years we’d thrown out the idea of traveling together somewhere for this milestone anniversary. The most recent idea I threw out was Portland, because ever since I went for a work trip I’ve been dying to go back. We’ll see what we eventually decide on (we have until September to choose).

t-aoff2b8zw-tim-marshall

I’m resolving to let go of toxic relationships

Upon reflection, I realized that in 2016 I had cultivated a good deal of relationships that I would now consider to be toxic: relationships where you give more than you get, where you feel on uneven ground and constantly question your worth. I spent a good portion of time agonizing over how people viewed me; people who I had considered to be friends.

Not this year.

This year, I’m going to be mindful of myself and my own self-worth and focus on cultivating relationships with people who I feel truly value who I am and who I strive to be.

wp-1476835409415.jpg

I’m resolving to find a practice that makes me feel like my best self

Back when I worked at Federation, one way I practiced “self-care” was by updating my Gratitude Journal every day (or almost every day). Since leaving, I’ll admit that I haven’t been as militant in continuing the practice as I used to be.

I’ve been meaning to get back into yoga and meditation because I used to feel really good after spending around 30 minutes to an hour doing yoga, then 15 minutes or so decompressing with meditation. Now that I have a “me space” (I.E. my home office), I’m hoping that I can slowly reintroduce this to my daily routine, or at least commit to a couple days a week (let’s be real here).

wp-1476835343509.jpg

I’m resolving to spend more time one on one with my kids

Because of Sera’s age, she tends to absorb the majority of my time, which isn’t fair for Persephone. I really want to start making sure I’m spending quality time with Persephone outside of the time I spend with her for Girl Scouts (COOKIE SALES START IN FEBRUARY Y’ALL!).

In the past, we’ve spent time reading books together before bed, doing home manicures, playing games together like X-Wing or Pokemon cards. Now that she’s older, I’d like to do more things with her, like going to movies or museums, or even just going to the library to see what she gravitates towards.

9cq2gdornq

I’m resolving to hit, or exceed, my Goodreads Reading Challenge goal

Last year I started the challenge late, so I sorta cheated by just reading a boatload of manga at the end of the year to meet my goal. And I’m already, without meaning to, doing the same thing with this year’s challenge as well.

THAT BEING SAID, I still aim to read 24 books this year (manga excluded), so we’ll see if I can do it.

ob6o_xd67o0-aaron-burden

I’m resolving to take better care of myself

I don’t just mean in the “THIS IS THE YEAR I’M GONNA LOSE THE WEIGHT,” type of way, although that is part of it. I mean take care of myself both inside and out.

For a while, I’ve felt like the anti-depressants that I’m on aren’t cutting it like they used to be, and have worried that perhaps I’m not being treated for the right thing, or in the right way. So one of my goals is to see a new primary here locally, get checked over with a new evaluation, and see what the next steps should be, including if therapy should come back into the equation at all.

As I sort of eluded to with my mention of wanting to do yoga again, I embarrassingly have almost 70 kickboxing sessions already paid for that I haven’t used yet (thank GLOB they don’t expire!), so I want to try and go at least once a week to ILKB in St. Paul again once Thomas and I can get a better feel for what our new schedules will be like.

2017 is gonna be the year that I narrow down what the H I’m allergic to so I can eliminate it from my diet. I’m so tired of thinking I have it figured out, only to turn around and get gut rot out of left field. If that means I have to eliminate dairy from my life forever, good riddance. There are alternatives out there.


What goals, if any, do you have for yourself this year? Let’s help each other attain them. You and me? We got this!

sherlock-winking

