Exploring

verb: to traverse or range over (a region, area, etc.) for the purpose of discovery


This is my “E” contribution to the “A to Z Challenge.”


I’ll be the first to admit that I have a bad habit of being a homebody. There are many things I’d love to do, but for one reason or another – be it anxiety, lack of motivation or familial obligations – I often find myself missing out on opportunities that I know I would enjoy if I only allowed myself to. That’s why I’m so glad I actually followed through with my plans this past Sunday.

See, my parents generously offered to watch Seraphina and Chymera for us (since Persephone was at Girl Scout overnight camp) so Thomas and I could attend the MIA’s newest exhibit:

20170402_115120

The exhibit will be on display until May 28th, and I’m so glad we were able to go.

I love going to museums, but often don’t just because I either feel guilty making the time to do so (since the idea of going to a museum with my children running around gives me hives), and making a special trip down to the Cities just to look at art seems… overindulgent for some reason.

That being said, it was well worth the trip, and I highly encourage anyone in Minneapolis or in the next lucky city for this touring exhibit to check it out if you are a fan of del Toro and his work.

I won’t spoil it all for you, but I did take a handful of pictures that I will share. Just keep in mind as you see images from this exhibit that these are all items that usually take up residence in Guillermo del Toro’s second home, Bleak House. That’s right, his wife told him to buy a second house for all of his collected works because the kids found some of it “disturbing.”

The large scale models of the Angel of Death from Hellboy, seeing the outfit comparisons for Mako Mori from Pacific Rim, and the intricate details of Pan from Pan’s Labyrinth, was fascinating, in addition to the stunning costumes from Crimson Peak.

The exhibit tackled many things: from del Toro’s childhood, through his fascination with horror and admiration for authors such as H.P. Lovecraft, who he has several busts of and a full-size wax statue.

A good portion of the collection was an eclectic selection of works of art: from stunning landscapes to macabre pieces, such as original copies of some of the artwork from the Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark series. Below were just some of my favorites.

By far my favorite del Toro movie(s) are Hellboy, so being able to see the pieces from those movies was one of the highlights of the exhibit for me.

Besides horror, del Toro also has a fascination with the strange and peculiar. He has a fondness for sideshow “freaks,” and actually has 3 life-size wax replicas of some of the more famous ones. I personally was more interested in his old photographs, including some of his “death photo” collection.

At his Bleak House back in LA, del Toro has a “Rain Room,” which is something he’s aspired to have since childhood – a room where it will be forever raining and stormy, as it sometimes helps him think. I find it very fitting that in that section of the collection, this particular fellow had a place front and center.

20170402_113427

Of course, there were many more items that I took pictures of, but without the context, I doubt they would mean much to you if you haven’t had a chance to see the exhibit for yourself.

For as often as I used it in this post, I suppose “exhibit” would have also been an adequate word choice as well, but I digress.

I’m glad that Thomas and I were able to make the trip to check out At Home With Monsters at the Minneapolis Insitute of Arts (aka the MIA), and I hope that you too will check it out if you’re able – it was quite a feast for the eyes.

Until next time, stay weird friends, and don’t be afraid to get out and explore – you never know what wonders you may find.

❤ Linz

