Gardening

noun: the act of cultivating or tending a garden; the work or art of a gardener


This is my “G” contribution to the “A to Z Challenge.”


If you would have told me in high school that I would one day grow up to enjoy digging in the dirt, planting flowers and setting up vegetable gardens, I would have laughed in your face so hard I may have even snorted. But it’s true – who knew I had a green thumb?

Our first house in Brooklyn Center came with existing gardens, but I didn’t particularly like what they had planted, so I decided to dig it up and start from scratch. I was really happy with how the flower beds turned out.

The next year I kept it pretty consistent, but just switched a couple things up, like added rock instead of woodchips, and replaced a bunch of the annuals that I had planted the year before to see which ones I kind of liked more.

That was also the same year that I think I first did a vegetable garden as well.

There was a period of time where much didn’t change – I would swap out some of the plants here and there, but otherwise I kept with the same arrangement. The year before we moved, when we had our home on the market, I dug everything out – left it pretty blank so that whoever moved in could start fresh.

At our current home, we have a LOT of landscaping, and I’ve been trying to tackle it in stages because there’s just so much and it would cost a TON if we tried to do it all at once. Last year I set up a garden for Persephone, and I think it turned out pretty great.

I planted seeds, transplanted hostas from another garden, laid out a bunch of rock, set up her fairy garden, and we just kind of watered it throughout the summer. I’m hoping that this year the flowers will come in.

We also tried our hand at getting the vegetable garden to come together, but the area where the above ground box is located gets very little full sun because of the tree canopy, so I’ll have to rethink what I want to do with it this year.

This year I’d like to research butterfly and bee-friendly flowers that I can look at planting in the front yard or perhaps in the box garden. It’s still a little early to think about it, but if I come up with a plan, I’ll be sure to share the pictures later on this year.

What do you grow? Any favorite flowers or plants? Any suggestions for butterfly and bee friendly flowers? I’d love to hear what worked for you versus what ended up being a dud – I’ve had my fair share.

