noun: a nonprofit organization that inspires a love of reading, builds community, and sparks creativity by fostering neighborhood book exchanges around the world.


This is my “L” contribution to the “A to Z Challenge.”


As I’ve mentioned in previous posts on my site, I am an avid reader and lover of books. So when I was first introduced to the concept of Little Free Library, I immediately wanted one of my very own.

For those of you who many be unfamiliar with the concept, here’s a brief overview on what Little Free Library is and does from their website:

A Little Free Library is a “take a book, return a book” free book exchange. They come in many shapes and sizes, but the most common version is a small wooden box of books. Anyone may take a book or bring a book to share.

Little Free Library book exchanges have a unique, personal touch. There is an understanding that real people are sharing their favorite books with their community; Little Libraries have been called “mini-town squares.”

The Original Little Free Library (Photo Credit: Little Free Library.org)

The idea for Little Free Libraries actually started in 2009 in Hudson, WI thanks to Todd Bol. The first LFL was a schoolhouse that he built in honor of his mother, who was a teacher who loved to read.

Rick Brooks of UW-Madison saw Bol’s DIY project as a springboard that the two of them could use to promote social good in the world. Very soon, the Little Free Library movement was off and running.

Little Free Library is a nonprofit organization that gained 501(c)(3) status in 2012. Their mission is a very simple, yet powerful one:

Little Free Library is a nonprofit organization that inspires a love of reading, builds community, and sparks creativity by fostering neighborhood book exchanges around the world.

LFL.org has several starter kits that you can purchase on their website, but a great deal of people choose to follow in the founders’ footsteps and design their own. These are just some of my favorites (a whole gallery of them can be found on their website here).


One of the main goals of the Little Free Library movement is to offer books to people in areas where they may not necessarily be readily available. This is all in an effort to improve and increase literacy and a love of learning. To date, there are over 50,000 registered LFL’s in over 70 countries – that’s a lot of books!

Since reading is near and dear to my heart, and since I’m trying to fend off my book hoarder status, the idea of a Little Free Library that would allow us to SHARE some of our over-abundance of literature just seemed like a win/win situation.

One thought I had for the one I’d like to have would be to get either a new or used newspaper rack – something like this:

The reason I like this is because the top half could be books for adults, and the bottom BIGGER portion could be for kids.

Honestly, I’d be happy with anything really – we have quite a few little kids in our area, and having something like this available would make me feel really great about sharing my love of reading and learning with others.


How about you? Do you have any Little Free Libraries in your area, or own one yourself? I’d love to see pictures.

Until next time gentle readers,

❤ Linz

